2017 Clinician Scientist Merit Review Results

May 18, 2017

The Merit Review Process for 2017 has been completed. The purpose of the program is to provide evidence based recommendations to the Chair of the Department pertinent to continuing salary support for clinician-scientists. Calls for the 2018 Merit Review will go out to all clinician-scientists in December 2017.

A total of 10 faculty DoM members from across the various divisions and hospitals have been approved for salary support. The total number of applications received was 15, and some applicants were disqualified due to the receipt of career awards. All the applications were deemed meritous, but salary support was limited due to available resources.

Many thanks to the review committee, which was chaired by Dr. Kevin Kain. The 2017 review committee consisted of;

  • Daniel Drucker
  • Susan George
  • Margaret Herridge
  • Andreas Laupacis
  • Phil Marsden
  • Katherine Siminovitch
  • Jack Tu

This year's funded Merit applicants are shown here is alphabetical order.

Andrew Advani Endocrinology St. Michael's Hospital
Gillian Booth


St. Michael's Hospital
David Cherney Nephrology University Health Network - Toronto General Hospital
Claudia dos Santos Critical Care St. Michael's Hospital
Andrea Furlan Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation TRI - The Hillcrest Centre
Lorraine Lipscombe Endocrinology Women's College Hospital
Sangeeta Mehta Respiratory Medicine Sinai Health Systems
Joel Ray General Internal Medicine St. Michael's Hospital
Mark Silverberg


Sinai Health Systems
Jean Wang


University Health Network - Toronto General Hospital


Back to Top